OWL reviews: The Tombs of Atuan

I posted my first actual book review video to my YouTube channel, OWL reviews! And of course I chose an Ursula K. Le Guin book. >.>

I actually ended up having enough to make TWO videos for this book, so one is the main (i.e., better edited) video, the OWL review:

And the other is called an OWLET (ET = extra things).

If you enjoyed these, please like them on YouTube, subscribe to my channel if that’s the kind of thing you do, and share the videos with your friends!

About Nicole DeGennaro

Burgeoning writer, insatiable reader, and continuous dreamer.
This entry was posted in Authors I love/admire, Books, My projects, OWL reviews, Reading, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to OWL reviews: The Tombs of Atuan

  1. Book Beat says:

    Exciting! I’m thinking about starting a channel as well.

  2. Isaac Yuen says:

    Love your review! You hit on one of my favourite passages of the book. (The “Take care, Tenar” also moved me when I read it as an adult)

    Have I ever shared my review of Tombs with you? http://ekostories.com/2012/03/11/tombs-atuan-freedom/

    • Thank you! It was hard to just pick one scene to read and put in the main video, because there are so many great moments in this (relatively) short book.

      And thanks for sharing your review; I always enjoy reading your analysis of Le Guin’s work in particular, since we are both such fans of hers.

      I wonder what my reaction to this book would have been if I had read it when I was a young adult first. Back then, I didn’t really appreciate/like quietly strong characters (i.e., those who had moral or emotional strength instead of physical strength). I’m glad I grew out of that. I was thinking about it after reading your review and how you mention your initial reaction in childhood vs. your reaction reading it later.

      • Isaac Yuen says:

        Maybe one needs to be exposed to those elements as a child before one can learn to appreciate them later on. I’ve often found that great stories come to say different things in different parts of my life. Maybe they provide anchors or touchstones for one to return and reflect.

        BTW, I just watched your extra things review – I never had an edition with the afterword, so the passage around interdependency between “strong, willful, lonely souls” is just tremendous. I don’t know if you’ve ever read Le Guin’s essay collection Language of the Night, but in one of the pieces (actually a later introduction to Planet of Exile) she writes:

        “…Yin does not occur without yang, nor yang without yin. Once I was asked what I thought the central, constant theme of my work was, and I said spontaneously, “Marriage.”

      • I definitely agree; exposure to those elements can still have an effect when you’re a kid (even if you didn’t enjoy the surface story), and then when you revisit the stories later they’ll have a completely different meaning and influence.

        If you can find a version with the afterword, it’s honestly worth re-buying the book just for that! I own Language of the Night but haven’t read it yet. I’m looking forward to it. I love her nonfiction as much as her fiction.

        I don’t know if you know, but BBC Radio did a feature called Ursula Le Guin at 85. There’s a great interview with her, plus radio dramas of Left Hand of Darkness (http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b05pkpgg) and Earthsea (http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b05pktp7/episodes/guide). I’m enjoying them!

      • Isaac Yuen says:

        Yes I’ve listened to the Left Hand 2 parter. (They began that drama with my favourite passage of the book and I was hooked hah), but I think it was a bit too rushed for my taste, especially the end. Will get around to Earthsea very soon. Love the tribute with Neil Gaiman and David Mitchell too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

