2015: The year of getting things done

Well, 2015 has started out rather hectic for me, which accounts for why I haven’t been able to update ye olde blog until just now. It’s amazing how quickly things can fall by the wayside when changes are afoot.

Although I mostly stick to talking about writing and reading on this blog, I’ve also mentioned in the past that I work full time as a copy editor. I’ve been at my job for about eight years, and I’ve had a comfortable routine for the past five or so of those years.

But starting at the end of January, that schedule is going to shift big time, and I’ve been trying to plan ahead to accommodate the change. I’m starting a new job on the 26th, one that I am very excited about but that comes with a completely different schedule. I’ll be commuting almost 20 hours a week (currently I commute about 4 hours a week because I work from home most of the time), and there will be more business trips. For the first couple months, I’ll be learning unfamiliar systems and workflows, acquiring and refining skills, and just generally learning the ropes of a new job for a new employer. A lot of my energy in that time will be going toward this transition.

So although that is a professional/career thing, it is going to have a ripple effect across the rest of my life. There is only so much ahead-of-time planning one can do in this situation, but I am doing all of it. I am figuring out how to effectively use those 20 commuting hours a week so that I’m not losing too much writing or reading time. I don’t plan on carting a laptop or tablet around, so I’ll get back to doing more writing by hand. I think I’ll be able to read many more books in 2015 as well.

Plus, this means I’ll be forced to leave my house more, so hopefully my social life will be a little bit more satisfying this year (I’ve been a bit of a recluse in the past few years). I think I’ll be able to see my current friends more and possibly make new friends. I’m excited for what other opportunities this one major life change will bring.

Of course, I’ve been so focused on this career shift that admittedly my writing time lately has been eaten away by other things. And when I do have time to write, I’ve been too exhausted to really produce anything (so I’ve been using the time for reading instead). That exhaustion is slowly fading now that everything is falling into place, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to ramp up my writing again.

And speaking of, I have some big hopes for my writing and online presence in 2015. We’ll have to see how it all pans out, as I thought of these ideas before I knew I was going to have a new job. But I think I’d like to start a book review vlog. I use Goodreads to record my opinions on the books I read in quite a bit of detail, but that’s mostly for my own reference. I think it would be fun to do short video reviews to try and spark conversations with fans of the books I read (or fans of my own writing…if there are any!).

I’m also hoping to release a short story collection this year in collaboration with a few friends who are also writers or illustrators. That is in planning stages right now; as it solidifies I will, of course, share more details here. It’s an idea that’s been in the works for a couple years, actually. We all are just in a good place and feel that 2015 might be the year to make that collection happen.

So that’s the state of my personal and professional lives right now, friends! 2015 is promising so far, and I’m going to try and keep this positivity and energy going throughout. I’m also planning to stick to my once-a-month blogging schedule here (I’d like to do it more often, really, but I don’t want to burn myself out either).

How are your lives going? What plans do you have for the year? I hope 2015 has been treating you all well so far.

About Nicole DeGennaro

Burgeoning writer, insatiable reader, and continuous dreamer.
This entry was posted in Random, Random thoughts, Thoughts on writing, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2015: The year of getting things done

  1. Katie says:

    I’m so happy for you! 2015 is going to be awesome!!

  2. Robyn says:

    sounds like an exciting start to 2015! congrats on the new job and focus – Robyn

  3. Sounds like a great year ahead for you! Best wishes on your new “adventure.:-)

  4. Pingback: Introducing OWL reviews | Nicole DeGennaro's blog

  5. Pingback: 3-4-1 short story collection Kickstarter | Nicole DeGennaro's blog

Leave a Reply

