Distinguished Contribution for Ursula K. Le Guin

I couldn’t let this go by without commenting on it! Congratulations to one of my favorite authors, Ursula K. Le Guin, on being the winner of the National Book Foundation’s 2014 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. From the foundation’s announcement:

For more than forty years, Le Guin has defied conventions of narrative, language, character, and genre, as well as transcended the boundaries between fantasy and realism, to forge new paths for literary fiction. Among the nation’s most revered writers of science fiction and fantasy, Le Guin’s fully imagined worlds challenge readers to consider profound philosophical and existential questions about gender, race, the environment, and society.

As a bonus, another of my favorite authors—Neil Gaiman—will present the medal to Le Guin in November. What I wouldn’t give to be at that ceremony! But it’s invitation only, alas. I’ll just have to celebrate from afar.

I know Le Guin isn’t an obscure author or anything, but it’s still nice when an author you admire receives recognition for her great career. If you haven’t read anything by Le Guin yet, now might be a good time to correct that! The tough part will be choosing which of excellent her works to start with.

About Nicole DeGennaro

Burgeoning writer, insatiable reader, and continuous dreamer.
This entry was posted in Authors I love/admire, Random, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Distinguished Contribution for Ursula K. Le Guin

  1. Katie says:

    I still think we should ninja in there to see those two badasses take the stage.

  2. Nancy Adams says:

    Thanks, Nicole, for sharing this great news. I love Ursula Le Guin, too. This will spur me on to reread my favorites and scope out the books of hers that I haven’t read yet. So nice when someone who is so deserving gets this kind of award.

  3. Isaac Yuen says:

    Amazing, and well deserved! (I’m completely biased though haha)

Leave a Reply

