Quick hit quote 2

I am a bad blogger lately, and I apologize! But I just find that most of my attention wants to go to my fiction writing, so I’m taking advantage of that focus while I can.

But I don’t want to leave you all in the lurch, waiting week after week for one of my wonderful blog posts. I’m currently rereading The Left Hand of Darkness because reasons, so here is a quote. It’s from one of our first glimpses of my favorite character, Estraven, as described by the narrator Genly Ai:

“Power has become so subtle and complex a thing in the ways taken by the Ekumen that only a subtle mind can watch it work; here it is still limited, still visible. In Estraven, for instance, one feels the man’s power as an augmentation of his character; he cannot make an empty gesture or say a word that is not listened to. He knows it, and the knowledge gives him more reality than most people own: a solidness of being, a substantiality, a human grandeur. Nothing succeeds like success. I don’t trust Estraven, whose motives are forever obscure; I don’t like him; yet I feel and respond to his authority as surely as I do to the warmth of the sun.”

The Left Hand of Darkness, Ursula K. Le Guin

(I really am going to write a blog post about her and her work someday soon. In the meantime, I’ll just continue to share quotes from her writing with you all.)

About Nicole DeGennaro

Burgeoning writer, insatiable reader, and continuous dreamer.
This entry was posted in Authors I love/admire, Books, Inspiration, Random, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

