WiHM: women writing horror

Courtesy of the Women in Horror Recognition Month Facebook page.

February is Women in Horror Recognition Month! So my posts this month are going to highlight this topic in some way.

First, I would be remiss not to mention that the anthology The Grotesquerie from Mocha Memoirs Press, which contains my story “The River”, was released specifically in honor of WiHM and features only women authors. I’m thrilled to be a part of this anthology, so please buy a paperback or Kindle copy and support WiHM. Or, if your finances are tight this month (I totally understand!), at  least  check  out  some  of  my  fellow  authorswebsites  to  learn  more  about  them! They’re all awesome and impressive.

Second, on top of being WiHM, February is also Black History Month. I fully admit that my knowledge of women of color who write horror is sorely lacking, but luckily I found a couple great lists to get me started. I encourage you to check them out as well!

The post is off to a good start with all those links, but here’s where it comes to a halt. I have to admit something embarrassing. Originally, I wanted this first post for WiHM to also include my recommendations of more well-known/mainstream women horror writers I enjoy. So I looked at my bookshelves…and kept looking…and kept looking. And realized I don’t have that many horror books written by women.

That’s embarrassing but not surprising to me. Up until a few years ago, I never really paid attention to how many books by men vs. books by women I was reading. But as I started to learn more about the bias of publishing and literary awards toward men (especially white men)—even in genres like romance, that are notoriously populated by women writers—I began to examine my choices more closely and made a decision to read more books by women.

It’s an ongoing process, of course, but it means that right now my library is lacking women authors in this most beloved genre! But I’m not completely at a loss; I have read books by Anne Rice, Poppy Z. BriteKelly Link, and Daphne du Maurier.

Still, that list isn’t very long, and I haven’t read a lot of books by any one of the authors mentioned above. So I think I’ll use this month and the rest of the year to make up for my negligence. If you have some favorite women horror writers, leave me a link or tell me about them in a comment. Or, if like me your reading in this area has been lacking, maybe pick something by one of the women I’ve mentioned in this post or one from these lists to get started!

About Nicole DeGennaro

Burgeoning writer, insatiable reader, and continuous dreamer.
This entry was posted in Authors I love/admire, Books, Published works, Reading, Thoughts on reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WiHM: women writing horror

  1. Reblogged this on Sumiko Saulson and commented:
    As I am working on compiling a third list of black women in horror writing for February 2014, I am very excited to see so many bloggers and people on social media helping to put the word out about the lists, and helping to get black female horror writers on the radar. I’m going to start reblogging some of the articles that link back to the original post, like Nichole DeGennaro’s WiHM blog post below…

  2. Dave says:

    I loved reading Poppy Z. Brite but I must confess it’s been years since I’ve done so. So, if you had to pick one horror novel by a woman author, who would you recommend?

    • Oh man, this is a tough choice for multiple reasons. I tend to favor psychological horror, so if you’re really looking for novels I’d say check out Daphne du Maurier. I’ve only read Rebecca, which I enjoyed but might not be for everyone (it’s creepy, not scary, and also is a romance on top of being creepy). But she also wrote several short stories that were turned into/inspired Hitchcock films (The Birds, for example).

      In honor of WiHM, I’m about to start Stranger Things Happen, which is a short story collection by Kelly Link. It’s not a novel, so I didn’t know if you’d consider that a cheating answer to your question. 😉 I’ve read her collection Pretty Monsters and enjoyed that, so I expect Stranger Things to be awesome.

  3. Dave says:

    Great. Thanks for the suggestions. I’ve decided to try out Kelly Link’s Stranger Things Happen. Looked like an interesting read, with quirky stories and creepiness.

  4. Pingback: Women in Horror Month | Mitzi Flyte

  5. Pingback: WiHM: women filming horror | Nicole DeGennaro's blog

  6. Pingback: WiHM: why horror? | Nicole DeGennaro's blog

  7. Pingback: WiHM: hopes for horror | Nicole DeGennaro's blog

Leave a Reply

